Why is it so hard to start writing?

The washing machine’s finished and the washing hung out, (doesn’t look like rain,) the cup of tea has been drunk, the room is tidy, the computer (and the internet) is on – so why is it so hard just to knuckle down and write?

After all, I’ve been imagining this story and salivating over the thought of getting it down on paper. It’s tremendous. Really innovative. And ‘oh so true’. (Well, that’s what the reviews will be saying…)  I can see the characters, I have a rough idea of what they’re saying and where they’re going, but can I get them out of my head and onto the page? Not currently.

It’s always like this. Deadline or no deadline. It seems to me that this distraction is part of the writing process but something that needs to be tamed and I have no idea or not enough discipline in order to tame it. A director, Stefan Schwartz, (here’s the name drop,) once said to me that ’90 per cent of writing is not writing’, but for me, I’d say it’s higher than that.

The story is in my head. Now I just need to get it out… TBC.

About 17Percent

A campaign to get more plays by women playwrights onto UK stages.
This entry was posted in On writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

